Link: visually impaired version of this website

Chris High banner image


 

 

  

Review: Books, Theatre, Movies, Albums & Gigs.

British Pink Floyd live on stage

British Pink Floyd

Greatest Hits World Tour, 2011
Liverpool Echo Arena

January 22, 2011

Hey Teacher, there’s some new kids on the Floyd Tribute block, The British Pink Floyd Show and judging by this performance before a near sell out crowd of 10,500, they are going to take some beating.

From the opening strains of Shine On You Crazy Diamond to the final chords of Run Like Hell, Damian Darlington (Musical Director, Vocals, Lapsteel and Guitar) and Ian Cattell (Bass and Vocals) grind out hit after Floyd hit with such style, finesse and – dare I say – love, the music comes to being every bit as close to that which might be witnessed in the presence of Gilmour, Wright, Mason and Waters and all of which is aided and abetted by a fine array of musicians and a dazzling light show of epic proportions.

British Pink Floyd on stageOla Bienkowska’ vocals during The Great Gig in the Sky are mesmerising, whilst Bobby Harrison’s own guitar work and Rick Benbow’s fine keyboard playing during a full length Version of Echoes makes these true highlights amongst many.

Yet it is the effects that take the show from the simply stunning to the astonishingly memorable. The back drop of a huge screen that is topped off with the ubiquitous circular heart, displays graphics throughout that add that extra dimension to the mastery being played out beneath and truly comes into its own during Another Brick In The Wall (Part II), Mother  and arguably the greatest song ever written by the band, Comfortably Numb. A little surprising is that the canine toothed Boar doesn’t make an appearance during One Of These Days, but that still doesn’t dilute the spectacle taking place. Besides, Piggy doesn’t take long to put his snout into the action as Pigs quickly follows in OOTD’s wake, though somewhat strangely it’s a pity there aren’t more lights cast in its direction. Stuck away in his sty in the corner of the Arena is no way to treat such a magnificent creature. But this is a minor quibble.

This is a special, special tribute to one of British Rock music’s foremost bands whose three surviving members are – to say the least – unlikely to ever grace the same stage again. However, even were Pink Floyd to ever tread the boards again, anyone would be hard pressed to tell the difference anyhow.
http://www.britfloyd.com/

Set List
British Pink Floyd liveShine On You Crazy Diamond
Learning To Fly
High Hopes
Welcome to the Machine
Mother
One Of These Days
Pigs
Echoes
Time
Great Gig in the Sky
Wish You Were Here
Keep Talking
Nobody Home
Us and Them
Money
Another Brick in the Wall (Part II)
Comfortably Numb
Run Like Hell

Tour Dates:

Spring 2011
 Saturday   22 Jan 11   Liverpool   Echo Arena 
 Monday   18 Apr 11   Portsmouth   Guildhall 
Tuesday 19 Apr 11 Cambridge Corn Exchange
Wednesday 20 Apr 11 London Royal Albert Hall 
 Thursday   21 Apr 11   Sheffield   City Hall 
Saturday 23 Apr 11 Ipswich Regent 
Sunday 24 Apr 11 Milton Keynes Theatre 
Monday 25 Apr 11 Brighton Centre 
Tuesday 26 Apr 11 Nottingham Royal Concert Hall 
 Wednesday   27 Apr 11   Llandudno   Venue Cymru 
Friday 29 Apr 11 Birmingham NIA 
Saturday 30 Apr 11 Plymouth Pavilions 
Sunday 1 May 11 Bournemouth BIC 
Monday 2 May 11 Southend Cliffs Pavilion 
Wednesday 4 May 11 Cardiff CIA 
Thursday 5 May 11 Bristol Colston Hall 
Friday 6 May 11 Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall 
Saturday 7 May 11 Oxford New Theatre 
Monday 9 May 11 Leicester De Montfort Hall 
Tuesday   10 May 11   Preston   Guildhall 
Wednesday 11 May 11 Norwich Theatre Royal 
Friday 13 May 11 Manchester Apollo 
Saturday 14 May 11 Carlisle Sands Centre 
Sunday 15 May 11 Aberdeen Music Hall 
Tuesday 17 May 11 Glasgow Clyde Auditorium 
Wednesday   18 May 11   Dundee   Caird Hall 
Thursday 19 May 11 Gateshead The Sage 
Friday 20 May 11 Gateshead The Sage
Saturday 21 May 11 Croydon Fairfield 
 

Summer 2011
 Saturday   11 Jun 11   Isle of Wight   Festival 
 Sunday   26 June 11   Wolverhampton   Civic Hall 
Saturday 2 July 11 Liverpool Echo Arena 
Sunday 3 July 11 Dublin Grand Canal Theatre 
Monday   4 July 11   Belfast   Waterfront 
Saturday 30 July 11 Liverpool Echo Arena 
Tuesday 2 Aug 11 London O2 Arena 

 



BOOKS | MOVIES | ALBUMS | THEATRE | GIGS

RETURN TO HOME PAGE


BACK TO TOP
   Maybe you were at the 'British Pink Floyd' concert at The Echo Arena Liverpool 2011 and would like to comment on this review? Whatever your thoughts - please leave your FEEDBACK

“Writing gets me away for a while' from this world and into one where I, alone, can make or
break the rules as I see fit.” - Chris High 2003.
Site designed and maintained by Steve Bennett 2011 all rights reserved